Gente de Zona, Karol G & Descemer Bueno to be Honored at the 2018 La Musa Awards

Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame (LSHOF) Founders Desmond Child and Rudy Pérez on behalf of its esteemed Board of Directors proudly announce Gente de Zona as the recipient of its prestigious Hero Award, Karol G as the recipient of La Musa Elena Casals Award & Descemer Bueno as the recipient of the Conqueror Award during the 2018 LA MUSA AWARDS presented by Spotify. These special awards recognize the Honoree’s trailblazing career and outstanding musical contribution as a performer and songwriter in Latin Music.

Previously honored with the prestigious Hero Award include: Prince Royce (2013), Miguel (2014), Fonseca (2015), Café Tacuba (2016) & Wisin (2017). The outstanding women who have been previously honored with La Musa Elena Casals Award include Alejandra Guzmán (2015), Julieta Venegas (2016) & Ednita Nazario (2017). Also previously honored with the Conqueror Award include, Draco Rosa (2013), Jencarlos Canela (2014), Beto Cuevas (2015), Alejandro Sanz (2016) & Horancio Palencia (2017).

In a joint statement, Desmond Child, Chairman/CEO and Rudy Pérez express: “We salute Gente de Zona, Karol G & Descemer Bueno who are deservedly taking their place as the new generation setting the course of Latin Music on their way to becoming Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame future Inductees. By acknowledging them in this way, we are recognizing and encouraging their unstoppable potential as we confidently place all of our hopes and dreams on them.”

“Wow, I’m very moved and happy. These last days have been filled with surprises for me and today I have the honor of announcing another award, La Musa Elena Casals; A recognition to outstanding women in the industry. This gives me motivation to continue doing what I love the most through my music & to inspire others and be able to reach every corner of the world” – Karol G

“We are honored to be recognized with the Triunfador Award at La Musa Awards. We are proud to receive this prestigious award after so many years in the industry. Thank you to La Musa Awards for the opportunity”. - Gente de Zona

The 6th annual LA MUSA AWARDS, presented by Spotify and directed by Richard Jay-Alexander, will be held on October18th, 2018 at the James L. Knight Center in Miami, and will be hosted by Puerto Rican actor/singer, Ektor Rivera. Ektor is known for his USA TV & Live Show Q’Viva The Chosen, and for his 2016 Broadway debut when he took over the role of "Emilio Estefan" in the musical On Your Feet! at the Marquis Theatre in New York City and as a finalist on last season’s Mira Quien Baila on Univision.

LA MUSA AWARDS will honor this year’s class of Inductees:

Gloria Trevi (Mexico) • Chucho Valdés (Cuba) • Carlos Rubira Infante (Ecuador) • Fernando Osorio (Venezuela)


2018 Special Awards Announced:

Raphael, Living Legend Award

Victor Manuelle, Icon Award

Gente de Zona, Hero Award

Karol G, Premio La Musa Elena Casals

Descemer Bueno, Conqueror Award

More special awards & performances to be announced by the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame board of directors soon.


About Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame

The Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame is a 501c3 non-profit organization founded by renowned songwriter/producers Desmond Child & Rudy Pérez in 2012 and modeled after the high standards set by the Songwriters Hall Of Fame. Our mission is to educate, preserve, honor and celebrate the lives and music of the world’s greatest Latin songwriters, composers and lyricists in every genre while developing and inspiring new generations of music creators through master classes, workshops, scholarships and digital initiatives.


Todas las marcas registradas son propiedad de la compañía respectiva o de Publinet Solutions. Se prohibe la reproducción total o parcial de cualquiera de los contenidos que aquí aparezca, así como su traducción a cuaquier idioma sin autorización escrita de su titular.